Taking its name from the headland as viewed from sea, Redhead is a larger suburb surrounded by two conservation areas, Awabakal Nature Reserve to the north and Belmont Wetlands to the south, in addition to the suburbs of Jewells and Bennetts Green.
“THE LIFESAVERS WERE KNOWN AS THE ‘DURHAM BOYS’, AS MOST WORKED IN THE NEIGHBOURING DURHAM COAL MINE.”
Established by European settlers in the 1820s, the suburb really came into its own when the first school was opened in 1908. The northern end of Redhead Beach has had a long and interesting relationship with swimming and surf lifesaving. The Redhead Surf Life Saving Club was formed in 1907 on what was a private beach. The lifesavers were known as the “Durham Boys”, as most worked in the neighbouring Durham coal mine. When the first section of the Redhead estate was released in 1911, the beach was opened to the public.
In 1940 increased developments brought more residents into the area. The iconic shark tower was built in 1929 during the Great Depression, before the introduction of shark nets. It is believed to be one of the last, if not the last, remaining shark tower of its kind in Australia.